Kurinishkhona (the Khan's waiting room) was constructed by the Khivan governor the Arang-khan in 1686-1688. During the devastating invasion of the Iranian armies in the middle of the XVIII century, the kurinishkhona was destroyed and disassembled. The modern building was erected by the lltuzar-khan in 1804-1806 in a revival of building activity in Khiva and subsequent restoration of many buildings, which had fallen into decay.
Kurinishkhona consists of several premises: an open court yard (ayvan), a hall with a throne and lateral rooms in the western part of the court yard. Here, in small dark rooms on two floors of the Khan's treasury were the manuscripts and storehouses. There is a round eminence, where the yurt, in which the Khan received ambassadors of neighbouring eminences. This was built in the middle of the court yard.
The court yard walls are covered by majolica tiles, making various plant-geometrical patterns. The majolica facing of the ayvan is dated to the Allakuli-khan's time (1825-1842). The Kunya-Ark summer mosque ceiling was painted anew during restoration in 1933-1934. The ayvan is prominent on a high platform, and has two carved columns, and is allocated the central place, where the reception ceremony was held and state affairs were managed. This place is underpinned by an atmosphere of solemnity and the official character of the kurinishkhona.
The Khivan Khans' throne was in the heart of the oblong hall, at the southern wall, under a decorative semi dome. The throne, constructed by the Khivan master Muhammad in 1816, was made of wood and is covered by a thin sheet of silver. Ornamental medallions with thin patterns on a red background were stamped on the silver plates, and the engraved lines from the Koran and counsels of perfection to the reign of the lord were skilfully intertwined. The throne is interesting as an example of stamping on silver, and now it is stored in the Armoury Museum in Moscow.