Barakh-Khan medreseh is located next to the square of Hazret Imam to the east, among the clay-walled buildings of the old city. In honour of the Khan, this Medreseh has developed as a religious-memorial complex. It underwent several stages of construction and was completed in 1532 (2nd half of the 16th c.).
The medreseh has a courtyard which is surrounded by one-story khudjras. The main facade is split by a portal with a half-octagonal niche, where the glazed tiles have been preserved. Medreseh construction represents a strongly extended trapezoid form from east to west built around an oblong courtyard. Inside are some late burials among which, incidentally, Barrack-khan is not present: data sources show that he died in 1556 and was buried in Samarkand. The mausoleum has a centrally located portal-dome, with four angular rooms and a cruciform hall.
The mausoleum "Anonymous" has four angular premises and a cross-shaped hall. On the right side of the portal is a board which states that here, inside the mausoleum, the residence of the Mufti of the Spiritual Board of Muslims of Uzbekistan is located. Now spiritual administration of Muslims of Uzbekistan settled in a new, specially constructed building, whereas hujr Barak-Khan Madrassah were transferred to workshops of handicraftsmen and national masters. They deduce Arabic ligature ayahs from Quran, cut out folding supports under Quran and also mint patterns on copper both brass trays and vessels. Thanks to it spiritual and cultural communication of epoch doesn't stop.
The complex Barak-Khan Madrassah has remained with essential losses and was considerably deformed till present days.
The given complex is laid from a fragmentary brick. Dressing is presented only on the basic objects such as: entrance of arched portal of madrassah, a portal and a dome of the mausoleum of Sujunidzh-khan. According to some data, calotte domes of the mausoleum were decorated with blue tiles, and on a dome drum was represented star-shaped girih with drawing of 8-faced stars, made of a mosaic. Therefore the mausoleum had the name the Kok gumbaz ("Blue dome"). In 1868 during earthquake the dome collapsed.
According to historical data, dome of the mausoleum was covered with blue tiles; the drum of the dome was decorated with star girikh with a pattern of 8-pointed stars, made of mosaic. The decor of the entrance peshtak of the medreseh has now been restored. The timpan of the entrance arch is made from 6-sided majolica tiles, on which floral ornamentation has been painted. It creates a uniform composition. The complex of the medreseh has survived to the present, albeit with major damage and loss.